Congratulations Newman Civic Fellows!

Congratulations to the 2016 Newman Civic Fellows!

19 outstanding Florida students are among the 218 students from across the country honored as 2016 Newman Civic Fellows. These promising student leaders have demonstrated an investment in their community through service, research, and advocacy. Nominated for the award by their college or university’s President, these Fellows are making the most of their college experiences to better understand themselves, the root causes of social issues, and effective mechanisms for creating lasting change.

The 2016 Newman Civic Fellows from Florida colleges and universities are:

Robert Down, Adventist University of Health Sciences

Christian Mesa, Barry University   

Julia Weatherspoon, Eastern Florida State College

Demetrius Smith, Edward Waters College

Willie Williams, Florida A&M University       

Christy Folk, Florida Atlantic University

Lauren Morimanno, Florida Gulf Coast University

Corin Lobo, Florida Institute of Technology

Stephon Green-Monroe, Florida State College at Jacksonville    

Maydee Martinez, Miami Dade College

Lizabelt Avila, New College of Florida

Isabelle Runge, Palm Beach Atlantic University  

Pablo Campos, Pensacola State College

Arden Baxter, Rollins College

Rosmery Nerey Rodriguez, Seminole State College of Florida

Taylor Duguay, Stetson University

Misha Smith, Tallahassee Community VCollege

Andy Garcia, University of Florida

Alexis Musick, University of Miami

For a complete list of 2016 Newman Civic Fellows, bios and more information on the award, click here.