Congratulations, Miami Dade College- Service Year + Higher Education: Innovation Challenge Winner!


Congratulations to Miami Dade College for being chosen as a winner of the prestigious Service Year + Higher Education: Innovation Challenge!

Organized by The Franklin Project, the National Conference on Citizenship, the Corporation for National & Community Service, the Lumina Foundation and the Aspen Institute, the Service Year + Higher Education: Innovation Challenge called for higher education institutions to plan innovative new service year opportunities connected to academic credit for their students.  Over 200 institutions participated in the challenge, with 32 submitting detailed proposals for consideration.

Nine finalists (the top three from each sector of higher education) were chosen from these proposals. Campus Compact members are denoted with an asterisk (*):

Community College/ State College System:

Alamo Colleges

Miami Dade College*

Salt Lake Community College*


Public University:

San Jose State*

University of Kentucky*

UMASS Dartmouth*


Private University:

Drake University*

Mount St. Joseph University*

Saint Peter’s University


The nine finalists were invited to the Aspen Institute in Washington, D.C., to compete for $100,000 in prizes at an in-person pitch day on April 15th. Livestream viewers were able to watch the finalists deliver their pitches to judges and the announcement of winners.


And the winners are:

Community College/ State College System:

Miami Dade College


Public University:

UMASS Dartmouth


Private University:

Drake University


Miami Dade College was also awarded the Audience Choice Award.


Click here to watch an announcement of the winners.


For more information, including information about the judges and finalists, please visit