2015 Florida Campus Compact Awards Gala

florida campus compact awards, service-learing awards

On Thursday, November 5, Florida Campus Compact honored the 2015 Award Winners at their annual Gala hosted by President Kevin Ross on the campus of the Lynn University in Boca Raton.

The evening began with a reception and dinner at the Keith C. and Elaine Johnson Wold Performing Arts Center, the newest performing arts venue in Palm Beach County. Following dinner, attendees enjoyed the awards ceremony that included inspiring student stories of service. The evening concluded with a dessert reception.

Recipients of these awards are leaders at their institutions and have been carefully evaluated for their impact in the areas engaged scholarship, service-learning, community service; and innovative approaches to solving community problems.

Florida Campus Compact advances the civic purposes of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to improve community life and to educate students for civic and social responsibility. Florida Campus Compact, the state affiliate of Campus Compact, is a national presidential membership organization comprised of fifty-three college and university presidents in Florida and over 1100 nationally who are committed to helping students develop the values and skills of active citizenship through participation in public and community service. Florida Campus Compact works with these presidents and their campuses to integrate service with academic study and to provide a collegial experience for inter-campus and community collaborations.

Florida Campus Compact 2015 Award Winners

AmeriCorps VISTA Member Recognition
Stephanie Cime, Florida International University
Lizzie Lehuta, Ringling College of Art and Design

Student Excellence in Service Award
Brittany Hockey, Pensacola State College (Florida College System)
Katelynd Todd, University of Florida (State University System)
Natasha Koermer, University of Miami (Independent Colleges and Universities)

Engaged Scholarship Faculty Award
Lindsay Smitherman-Brown, Tallahassee Community College (Florida College System)
Cecile Houry, Ph.D, Florida International University (State University System)
Sharon Carnahan, Ph.D, Rollins College (Independent Colleges and Universities)

Engaged Scholarship Faculty Special Recognition for Global Engagement
Elizabeth Hordge-Freeman, Ph.D, University of South Florida

Engaged Scholarship Research Award
Thomas Bryer, Ph.D, University of Central Florida (State University System)
Gabriel Barreneche, Ph.D, Rollins College (Independent Colleges and Universities)

Graham-Frey Civic Award
Bonnie Silvestri, J.D., University of South Florida

Community Engagement Educator Award
Patrick McDermott, Tallahassee Community College (Florida College System)
Heather Burk, University of North Florida (State University System)
Kevin Winchell, Stetson University (Independent Colleges and Universities)

Student Affairs Partnering with Academic Affairs Award
Tallahassee Community College (Florida College System)
Rollins College (Independent Colleges and Universities)

Campus Community Partnership Awards
Honorable Mention
Pensacola State College with Manna Food Pantries
Florida State University with iGrow Whatever You Like

Local Impact Category
Second Place: Flagler College with Proton U
First Place: Florida Gulf Coast University with Wings of Hope

Global Impact Category
Second Place: University of North Florida with Lutheran Social Services
First Place: St. Thomas University with Port-de-Paix, Haiti, Global Solidarity Partnership

Thomas E. Gamble Service Legacy Award
Edwin R. Massey, Ph.D., President, Indian River State College

Florida Campus Compact Founders Award                                                                                                                                                                                       Anthony James Catanese, Ph.D., FAICP, President, Florida Institute of Technology

Engaged Campus of the Year
Third Place: Tallahassee Community College
Second Place: Eastern Florida State College
First Place: University of South Florida

Here are a few photos from this amazing night!



florida campus compact awards, service-learing awards